Is it worth going back to work?
See what a second income leaves after taxes, childcare and commuting.
Open calculator: Worth workingCity income, county childcare prices
Compare ages and care settings, then put the estimate beside your own budget.
Infant care in a center
$9,646/ year
Source 2020 · CPI adjusted to August 2026
A planning estimate for one child. Current tuition and included services vary by provider.
Annual care ÷ $49,311 income. 2020–2024 ACS 5-year.
| Age group | Center | Home-based |
|---|---|---|
| Infant | $9,6462020 source | Not reported |
| Toddler | $9,0782020 source | Not reported |
| Preschool | $9,0782020 source | Not reported |
| School-age | $7,9432020 source | Not reported |
One child. Weekly × 52 ÷ 12 for monthly; weekly × 52 for annual. School-age coverage varies and often means care around school hours. Age definitions.
The city and the county
The displayed care prices come from Greene County. Income comes from Springfield.
Primary county is the county containing the largest ACS-estimated share of the place population. This city spans more than one county; a provider elsewhere in the city may face a different market.
County mapping: Census ACS 2024. Historical Connecticut counties are kept separate from current planning regions.
A little context
Highest price ranks first, for infant center care. Ties use the same rank.
Population-weighted mean of available infant center county medians.
$66,957 median family income, 2024 ACS. A separate comparison from household income.
Nearby places
Actual county neighbors from the Census adjacency file. These are estimates for each county’s market.
| County | Monthly estimate | Source year |
|---|---|---|
| Dade County, MO | $789 | 2018 |
| Webster County, MO | Not available | Not reported |
Make it your budget
Open a calculator with this county’s estimate prefilled. Edit it to match your provider’s quote.
See what a second income leaves after taxes, childcare and commuting.
Open calculator: Worth workingCompare center, home-based care, a nanny and a nanny share—including employer taxes.
Open calculator: Daycare vs. nannyCompare federal tax benefits with the rules for 2025 and 2026.
Open calculator: FSA vs. tax creditCompare your income with published state limits and find the application.
Open calculator: Subsidy income checkHelp paying for care
The January 2025 federal table lists $3,750 per month as the initial income threshold for a family of four.
Current limits and other eligibility rules may differ.
See limits & applicationThe infant center estimate is $804 per month. The underlying source is dated 2020 and is adjusted to August 2026 with the childcare CPI. Individual provider quotes vary.
A home-based estimate is not reported for this age group. Ask licensed providers for their current tuition.
The county figure is a tuition benchmark. Deposits, registration, supplies, meals, late pickup and paid closures may be billed separately. Ask for a written payment schedule.
Annual center care divided by $49,311 median household income gives 19.6%. Income comes from 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. The periods differ, so this is an illustrative comparison, not a current household survey.
The state assistance page links to the current program. Income is only one part of eligibility; work or education, your child’s age, assets and available funding can also matter.
Retrieved 2026-10-01. The displayed figures are rounded; calculations use unrounded values.
| Age / setting | Source | Original weekly | CPI factor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infant / center | DOL NDCP 2020 | $143.29 | × 1.294532 |
| Toddler / center | DOL NDCP 2020 | $134.86 | × 1.294532 |
| Preschool / center | DOL NDCP 2020 | $134.86 | × 1.294532 |
| School-age / center | DOL NDCP 2020 | $118.00 | × 1.294532 |
CPI: BLS CUUR0000SEEB03, August 2026 index 403.749, divided by the source-year annual index. NDCP values may be age-derived, converted, clustered or imputed. Read the method and limitations.
Income: 2020–2024 ACS 5-year, median household B19013 and median family B19113. Income is not CPI adjusted.
Subsidy: ACF January 2025 initial income table; confirm current rules through the state application.