Is it worth going back to work?
See what a second income leaves after taxes, childcare and commuting.
Open calculator: Worth workingLocal childcare costs
Compare ages and care settings, then put the estimate beside your own budget.
Infant care in a center
The federal file does not report a usable infant center estimate for this place. We keep that gap visible. Enter your provider’s quote in a calculator.
Plan with your own quoteAvailable figures: sources 2018–2018 · CPI adjusted to August 2026
| Age group | Center | Home-based |
|---|---|---|
| Infant | Not reported | $1302018 source |
| Toddler | Not reported | $1182018 source |
| Preschool | Not reported | $1182018 source |
| School-age | Not reported | $1152018 source |
One child. Weekly × 52 ÷ 12 for monthly; weekly × 52 for annual. School-age coverage varies and often means care around school hours. Age definitions.
Nearby places
Actual county neighbors from the Census adjacency file. These are estimates for each county’s market.
| County | Monthly estimate | Source year |
|---|---|---|
| Greene County, MO | $804 | 2020 |
Make it your budget
Open a calculator with this county’s estimate prefilled. Edit it to match your provider’s quote.
See what a second income leaves after taxes, childcare and commuting.
Open calculator: Worth workingCompare center, home-based care, a nanny and a nanny share—including employer taxes.
Open calculator: Daycare vs. nannyCompare federal tax benefits with the rules for 2025 and 2026.
Open calculator: FSA vs. tax creditCompare your income with published state limits and find the application.
Open calculator: Subsidy income checkHelp paying for care
The January 2025 federal table lists $3,750 per month as the initial income threshold for a family of four.
Current limits and other eligibility rules may differ.
See limits & applicationThe federal file does not contain a usable center price here. We show that gap rather than replacing it with a national price. Use a current provider quote in the calculators.
The infant home-based estimate is $564 per month, from a 2018 source adjusted to August 2026.
The county figure is a tuition benchmark. Deposits, registration, supplies, meals, late pickup and paid closures may be billed separately. Ask for a written payment schedule.
The required income or childcare value is unavailable, so no share is calculated.
The state assistance page links to the current program. Income is only one part of eligibility; work or education, your child’s age, assets and available funding can also matter.
Retrieved 2026-10-01. The displayed figures are rounded; calculations use unrounded values.
| Age / setting | Source | Original weekly | CPI factor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infant / home | DOL NDCP 2018 | $95.15 | × 1.368418 |
| Toddler / home | DOL NDCP 2018 | $86.17 | × 1.368418 |
| Preschool / home | DOL NDCP 2018 | $86.17 | × 1.368418 |
| School-age / home | DOL NDCP 2018 | $84.04 | × 1.368418 |
CPI: BLS CUUR0000SEEB03, August 2026 index 403.749, divided by the source-year annual index. NDCP values may be age-derived, converted, clustered or imputed. Read the method and limitations.
Income: 2020–2024 ACS 5-year, median household B19013 and median family B19113. Income is not CPI adjusted.
Subsidy: ACF January 2025 initial income table; confirm current rules through the state application.