Daycare costs by state

Daycare costs in Alaska. About $1,685/month for infant center care, CPI adjusted to August 2026.

A starting point across the state. Explore your county for the more local picture.

Infant care in a center

$1,685/ month

County sources 2015–2022 · CPI adjusted to August 2026

Weekly
$389
Monthly
$1,685
Annual
$20,216

A planning estimate for one child. Current tuition and included services vary by provider.

21.8%of median household income
21.8% of median household income

Annual care ÷ $92,788 income. 2020–2024 ACS 5-year.

Prices by age & setting

Estimated monthly cost per child, by age and care setting
Age groupCenterHome-based
Infant$1,6852015 source$1,3222015 source
Toddler$1,5292015 source$1,2222015 source
Preschool$1,3692015 source$1,1772015 source
School-age$8162015 source$8392015 source

One child. Weekly × 52 ÷ 12 for monthly; weekly × 52 for annual. School-age coverage varies and often means care around school hours. Age definitions.

Population-weighted mean of available county medians. Each county is adjusted before averaging. Coverage varies by age and setting; this is not an official statewide median.

Get closer to home

Explore your county.

Each local page shows available age groups, source years, income context and nearby counties.

Infant care per month, CPI adjusted to August 2026
CountyCenterHome-basedSource year
Aleutians East BoroughNot availableNot availableNot reported
Aleutians West Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Anchorage Municipality$1,917$1,3752022
Bethel Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Bristol Bay BoroughNot availableNot availableNot reported
Chugach Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Copper River Census AreaNot available$1,448Not reported
Denali Borough$1,994Not available2018
Dillingham Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Fairbanks North Star Borough$2,093$1,6732022
Haines Borough$1,897$1,4302018
Hoonah-Angoon Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Juneau City and Borough$1,201$6972022
Kenai Peninsula Borough$820$1,3322022
Ketchikan Gateway Borough$1,653$7482022
Kodiak Island Borough$1,488$1,4432022
Kusilvak Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Lake and Peninsula BoroughNot availableNot availableNot reported
Matanuska-Susitna Borough$1,320$1,1432022
Nome Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
North Slope BoroughNot availableNot availableNot reported
Northwest Arctic BoroughNot availableNot availableNot reported
Petersburg Borough$1,571Not available2020
Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area$1,683Not available2020
Sitka City and Borough$2,487$1,0942022
Skagway Municipality$1,150Not available2020
Southeast Fairbanks Census Area$1,092$1,0702015
Valdez-Cordova Census Area$2,057$1,3672018
Wrangell City and BoroughNot availableNot availableNot reported
Wrangell-Petersburg Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported
Yakutat City and Borough$1,160$1,0942015
Yukon-Koyukuk Census AreaNot availableNot availableNot reported

City pages in Alaska

Make it your budget

Put the numbers
to work.

Use a calculator to compare costs with your own income and provider quotes.

Help paying for care

Check the assistance
available in Alaska.

The January 2025 federal table lists $7,372 per month as the initial income threshold for a family of four.

Current limits and other eligibility rules may differ.

See limits & application

Questions about care
in Alaska.

How much does daycare cost per month in Alaska?

The infant center estimate is $1,685 per month. The underlying source is dated 2015 and is adjusted to August 2026 with the childcare CPI. Individual provider quotes vary.

How much is home-based childcare?

The infant home-based estimate is $1,322 per month, from a 2015 source adjusted to August 2026.

Does the estimate include deposits and extra fees?

The county figure is a tuition benchmark. Deposits, registration, supplies, meals, late pickup and paid closures may be billed separately. Ask for a written payment schedule.

What does the share of income mean?

Annual center care divided by $92,788 median household income gives 21.8%. Income comes from 2020–2024 ACS 5-year. The periods differ, so this is an illustrative comparison, not a current household survey.

Can I get help paying for daycare in Alaska?

The state assistance page links to the current program. Income is only one part of eligibility; work or education, your child’s age, assets and available funding can also matter.

Sources behind this page.

Retrieved 2026-10-01. The displayed figures are rounded; calculations use unrounded values.

Original weekly estimates and CPI factors
Age / settingSourceOriginal weeklyCPI factor
Infant / center County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
Infant / home County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
Toddler / center County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
Toddler / home County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
Preschool / center County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
Preschool / home County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
School-age / center County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county
School-age / home County sources 2015–2022 DOL NDCP County aggregation Adjusted per county

CPI: BLS CUUR0000SEEB03, August 2026 index 403.749, divided by the source-year annual index. NDCP values may be age-derived, converted, clustered or imputed. Read the method and limitations.

Income: 2020–2024 ACS 5-year, median household B19013 and median family B19113. Income is not CPI adjusted.

Subsidy: ACF January 2025 initial income table; confirm current rules through the state application.