Daycare costs by state

Daycare costs in Indiana.

A starting point across the state. Explore your county for the more local picture.

Infant care in a center

A price isn’t available here.

The federal file does not report a usable infant center estimate for this place. We keep that gap visible. Enter your provider’s quote in a calculator.

Plan with your own quote

Prices by age & setting

Estimated monthly cost per child, by age and care setting
Age groupCenterHome-based
InfantNot reportedNot reported
ToddlerNot reportedNot reported
PreschoolNot reportedNot reported
School-ageNot reportedNot reported

One child. Weekly × 52 ÷ 12 for monthly; weekly × 52 for annual. School-age coverage varies and often means care around school hours. Age definitions.

Population-weighted mean of available county medians. Each county is adjusted before averaging. Coverage varies by age and setting; this is not an official statewide median.

Get closer to home

Explore your county.

Each local page shows available age groups, source years, income context and nearby counties.

Infant care per month, CPI adjusted to August 2026
CountyCenterHome-basedSource year
Parke CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Perry CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Pike CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Porter CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Posey CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Pulaski CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Putnam CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Randolph CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Ripley CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Rush CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
St. Joseph CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Scott CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Shelby CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Spencer CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Starke CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Steuben CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Sullivan CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Switzerland CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Tippecanoe CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Tipton CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Union CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Vanderburgh CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Vermillion CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Vigo CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Wabash CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Warren CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Warrick CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Washington CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Wayne CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Wells CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
White CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported
Whitley CountyNot availableNot availableNot reported

City pages in Indiana

Make it your budget

Put the numbers
to work.

Use a calculator to compare costs with your own income and provider quotes.

Help paying for care

Check the assistance
available in Indiana.

The January 2025 federal table lists $3,900 per month as the initial income threshold for a family of four.

Current limits and other eligibility rules may differ.

See limits & application

Questions about care
in Indiana.

How much does daycare cost per month in Indiana?

The federal file does not contain a usable center price here. We show that gap rather than replacing it with a national price. Use a current provider quote in the calculators.

How much is home-based childcare?

A home-based estimate is not reported for this age group. Ask licensed providers for their current tuition.

Does the estimate include deposits and extra fees?

The county figure is a tuition benchmark. Deposits, registration, supplies, meals, late pickup and paid closures may be billed separately. Ask for a written payment schedule.

What does the share of income mean?

The required income or childcare value is unavailable, so no share is calculated.

Can I get help paying for daycare in Indiana?

The state assistance page links to the current program. Income is only one part of eligibility; work or education, your child’s age, assets and available funding can also matter.

Sources behind this page.

Retrieved 2026-10-01. The displayed figures are rounded; calculations use unrounded values.

CPI: BLS CUUR0000SEEB03, August 2026 index 403.749, divided by the source-year annual index. NDCP values may be age-derived, converted, clustered or imputed. Read the method and limitations.

Income: 2020–2024 ACS 5-year, median household B19013 and median family B19113. Income is not CPI adjusted.

Subsidy: ACF January 2025 initial income table; confirm current rules through the state application.